Wig Accessory Essentials

So I’m in the process of compiling step by step photos for some of the cool things I’ve learned to do with my wigs, and am hoping to put up some DIY tutorials for fellow wig wearers out there.
In the meantime though, let’s make sure that you have everything you need.

Stylingpanel

Wigstand#1- Wig Stand.
Unless you are really limber and very patient, a wig stand is your best bet for getting some of the more complicated hair maneuvers right. All my wig stands are open plastic models, which can make getting a feel for how the head sits tough at times. Styrofoam head models are probably the easiest to style on as they fill the wig better and give benchmarks for how the wig will sit on the head.

#2- A Comb or Wig Brush
Combs are the easiest to find anywhere and don’t need any kind of specialization to work well and avoid damage to your wig.
If you have longer wigs or find yourself dealing with snags often, a wig brush may be the way to go. I know what you’re thinking, “can’t I just use a regular brush?” Well, sure you can, but keep in mind that brushes designed for natural hair usually have a level of pliability to their bristles. This softness can catch, stretch, mangle and break synthetic wig strands quite easily.
wig_brushWig brushes usually come equipped with sparse metal bristles– not the pinnacle of comfort on a scalp, but much less likely to damage your wig in the long run.
A wig brush usually won’t cost much more than a normal brush, but if for whatever reason you feel inclined to use a ‘normal’ brush on a synthetic wig, keep in mind that stiffer, sparser bristles are better and work gently with it.

#3- Wig Cap or Cushion Band
I put this on here only because I know that for some people it’s a must. Wig caps do a good job of dealing with keeping oil and sweat from your scalp off your wig, and can really help alleviate itching and discomfort if you are dealing with scalp sensitivity. wigcushionband
Personally? I tried some and really didn’t care for them. My favorite underwig accesory is The Cushion Band found here: http://www.headcovers.com/175/cushion-band-gel-headband-grips-wigs/ . I probably need to do a review of some sort on it because as my head started to get tender, it pretty much alleviated every complaint I could have had about wearing wigs.

wigpins#4- Bobby Pins, Barrettes, and Snap Clips
Bobby pins and snap clips are especially helpful for taming wayward strands or keeping a wig looking the same way you styled it all day long. Barrettes can do the same thing, but with flare!

#5- Claw/Jaw Clips and Hairbands
Whether combing, cleaning, or styling, wig generally become easier to work with when sectioned off. For ease and minimal chance ofd breakage, alligator clips are your best bet. For long lasting hold, use hairbands the same way you would with normal hair…just not too tight!

#6- Wig Sprays, Shampoos, and the Like
wigwash4Listen, there are a ton of products out there for wig wearers, and I’m sure that a lot of them are awesome and well worth it– especially if you’re sporting a hundred dollar or more ‘do!

For me though, I’ve found that I really only need a mild, no residue shampoo like Burt’s Baby Bee to keep everything nice and neat.

Bottom line is that you shouldn’t wind up spending more on upkeep than you did on the wig– do your research, price check, and always, always look for testimonials!

Well, that’s about it for today, but I should be returning with more articles on how to style and care for the hair you wear!

Leave a comment